Skip to main content
The Professor: A Novel

The Professor: A Novel

Current price: $28.99
Publication Date: November 14th, 2023
Publisher:
Flatiron Books
ISBN:
9781250845351
Pages:
336
The Next Chapter Bookstore, LLC
2 on hand, as of Apr 17 7:13pm
(Fiction - Edge of Your Seat)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

The Professor is a thoroughly gripping mystery about power, ambition, and the lengths we will go to in order to succeed. Pacey and full of tension, this one will stick with you long after THE END.” –New York Times and #1 International Bestselling author, Karin Slaughter

For fans of Tana French, The Professor investigates the darkest corners of academic life: ambition, lies, and obsession.

On a spring afternoon in Athens, Georgia, Ethan Haddock is discovered in his apartment, dead, apparently by his own hand. His fatality immediately garners media attention: not because his death reflects the troubling increase of depression and mental health issues among college students, but because the media has caught the whiff of a scandal. His professor, Dr. Verena Sobek, has been taken in for questioning, and there are rumors his death is the result of a bad romance. A Title IX investigation is opened, the professor is suspended, and social media crusaders and trolls alike are out for blood.

Marlitt Kaplan never investigated love affairs. A former detective turned research assistant, she misses the excitement of her old job, but most of all the friendship of her partner, Teddy. When her mother, a professor at the university and colleague of the accused professor, asks for her help, she finds herself in the impossible position of proving something didn't happen. Without the credentials to interview suspects or access phone records, she will have to get closer to a victim's life than ever before. And she quickly finds herself in his apartment, having dinner with his roommates, even sleeping in his bed. But is she too close to see the truth?

In her relentless pursuit to uncover the mystery behind Ethan’s death, Marlitt will be forced to confront the power structures ingrained in the classroom against the backdrop of a historic campus and an institution that sometimes fails its most vulnerable members.

About the Author

Lauren Nossett is a professor of German language and literature. Her scholarly work has appeared in journals and edited volumes. She attended the Tin House Summer Writers’ Workshop in 2015 and 2017. The Resemblance is her first novel. She currently lives in Nashville, Tennessee.

Praise for The Professor: A Novel

Praise for Lauren Nossett

"Impressive. . . . An emotionally resonant page-turner from a writer worth watching." Publishers Weekly

“I can’t get enough of dark academic fiction, and Lauren Nosett’s takes the aesthetic into the frat houses in this college campus thriller.” —Crime Reads

“This chilling story has it all.” —Woman’s World

“A fast, fun read, that is nearly impossible to put down. . . . Every detail, every element of the story gets a payoff. . . . An intricately told tale.” —Paste Magazine

“Twisty, dark, and brilliant, The Resemblance is a chilling crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages faster than you can binge a true crime podcast.” —Sally Hepworth, bestselling author of The Good Sister

“A timely, expertly plotted mystery about power and privilege, The Resemblance will grab you from the first page and keep you guessing until the final twist. A captivating debut.” —Alafair Burke, bestselling author of Find Me

“A campus crime plunges a driven young detective into the shadowy depths of Greek life, where power and privilege hide sinister secrets. In The Resemblance, Nossett pushes the stakes ever higher, and the horrors of this hidden world feel all too real. A timely and compelling thriller, and a jagged new twist on dark academia.” —Laura McHugh, award-winning author of What’s Done in Darkness

“The Resemblance is a taut campus mystery that grows bigger and dives deeper into the community as the crime unfolds. Twisty turns with an emotional punch deliver a captivating read.” —Wendy Walker, bestselling author of Don’t Look for Me

“At once a careful, nuanced dismantling of toxic masculinity and an exploration of academia’s dark underbelly, The Resemblance is a powerhouse of a book that is as timely as it is terrifying. Perpetually twisty and full of chilling secrets, this masterful debut heralds Lauren Nossett as a fearless new voice in crime thrillers.” —Laurie Elizabeth Flynn, author of the The Girls Are All So Nice Here

“Haunting. . . . A sinister, addictive blend of self-aware police procedural and campus novel, this is the kind of book that slips its fingers around your throat and doesn’t let go.” —Ashley Winstead, author of The Last Housewife