Skip to main content
Twenty-Seven Minutes: A Novel

Twenty-Seven Minutes: A Novel

Current price: $16.99
Publication Date: January 30th, 2024
Publisher:
Poisoned Pen Press
ISBN:
9781728278148
Pages:
384
The Next Chapter Bookstore, LLC
1 on hand, as of Apr 17 5:13pm
(Fiction - Edge of Your Seat)
On Our Shelves Now

Description

"The rare gift that delivers it all: elevated prose, characters with depth, unpredictable twists, and a pitch-perfect mood."Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

For the last ten years, the small, claustrophobic town of West Wilmer has been struggling to understand one thing: Why did it take young Grant Dean twenty-seven minutes to call for help on the fateful night of the car accident that took the life of his beloved sister, Phoebe?

Someone knows what really happened the night Phoebe died. Someone who is ready to tell the truth.

With Phoebe's memorial in just three days, grief, delusion, ambition, and regret tornado together with biting gossip in a town full of people obsessed with a long-gone tragedy with four people at its heart. The caretaker, the secret girlfriend, the missing bad boy, and a former football star—just kids back then—are forever tied together the fateful rainy night Phoebe died. 

Perfect for fans of Jane Harper and Celeste Ng, Tate's literary suspense Twenty-Seven Minutes is a gripping debut about what happens when grief becomes unbearable and dark secrets are unearthed in a hometown that is all too giddy to eat it up. 

Praise for Twenty-Seven Minutes: A Novel

"Twenty-Seven Minutes is the rare gift that delivers it all: elevated prose, characters with depth, unpredictable twists, and a pitch-perfect mood that is wonderfully consuming. This story of a small town’s obsessive hold on a decade-old tragedy, as four people in its grip try to move on, is both poignant and pacy, an unforgettable portrait of grief and the darkest ties that bind. A must-read debut that marks Ashley Tate as a brilliant new voice in literary suspense." — Ashley Audrain, New York Times bestselling author of The Push

"Ashley Tate has written a masterful collision course of pain, sorrow, and grief that sliced open my veins and tore out my heart." — Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today bestselling author of Woman on the Edge and Watch Out for Her

"With her well-rounded characters, breakneck pacing, and emotional depth, Ashley Tate is a new thriller writer to watch." — Robyn Harding, international bestselling author

"A great read! Twenty-Seven Minutes vividly brings to life the long-term impact of grief and loss alongside an intriguing mystery. Well-paced with a satisfying ending and unexpected twist, I found it unputdownable." — Patricia Wolf, author of Outback

"I raced through this suspenseful debut. I loved the smart dialogue, the sense of foreboding, and the stunning setting. But, most of all, I was hooked by the characters, the twists, and the ‘Who on earth could have done this?’ puzzle. Definitely a writer to watch." — Jane Corry, internationally bestselling author of Coming to Find You and My Husband’s Wife

"A twisting, beautiful, deeply affecting mystery from a commanding new talent. Twenty-Seven Minutes is by turns evocative and unpredictable, truly gripping and deeply satisfying. I loved it." — Chris Whitaker, New York Times bestselling author of We Begin at the End

"In Twenty-Seven Minutes, Audrey Tate creates a tense and deeply affecting story of desperation, dysfunction, and tragedy that stays with the reader long after the final twist. Skilfully plotted and darkly atmospheric, I thoroughly enjoyed this gripping debut." — Rosemary Hennigan, author of The Favorites

"Twenty-Seven Minutes by Ashley Tate is a ride and a half. Tate nails the small-town vibe and the messiness of human emotions, making this an all-consuming read. If you're up for a story about regret, memories, and the ripple effect of one decision, this book is for you." — Caroline Mitchell, author of the DI Amy Winter series

"I tore through Twenty-Seven Minutes like a woman possessed. Equal parts haunting and propulsive, this fast-moving thriller grabs hold of you and doesn't let go until the final page. The entire reading experience feels like walking on thin ice—like you're waiting for something to crack, and when it does, it's entirely as satisfying as you'd hoped. I can't wait for more from Ashley Tate." — Jenny Hollander, author of Everyone Who Can Forgive Me Is Dead

"A dark read, Twenty-Seven Minutes succeeds in a satisfying way." — New York Journal of Books